- Diabetic Foodie - http://www.diabeticfoodie.com -

Build a Better Me, Month 12: Wrap-Up

Posted By diabeticFoodie On December 29, 2012 @ 7:00 am In Build a Better Me | 2 Comments

All throughout 2012, members of the Virtual Potluck [1] group including myself have been working to improve ourselves via the Build a Better Me blogging challenge. Before 2012 comes to a close, I thought it would be a good idea to review the ways I said I wanted to Build a Better Me.

Month 1: Eat More Leafy Greens
I’m doing well with this one, although I do better with it in cooler weather when collards, chard and turnip greens are in season. I’m eating things like Collard Greens with Black-Eyed Peas and Tomatoes [2], Tossed Greens with Watermelon-Jalapeno Vinaigrette and Feta Cheese [3] and Egg Crepes with Swiss Chard and Feta [4].

Month 2: Make Better Choices When Traveling
I’m doing okay with this one, but there is still much room for improvement. The Grillmaster and I try to choose hotels that have mini-refrigerators in each room so we can store things like yogurt and leftovers. If we have a big lunch, we munch on cheese, crackers and fruit for dinner. If a restaurant serves large portions (don’t they all?), we ask for a to go box right away and put half of our meal in it. I still venture into that “I’m on vacation, I can eat whatever I want” mindset sometimes, especially when it comes to French fries.

Month 3: Get Back Into Yoga
I’m not doing so well with this one. The classes offered in my area aren’t at convenient times and I don’t have enough floor space near a TV to do yoga via DVD. (Excuses, excuses.) I don’t know why I don’t make time for yoga because I feel so amazing when I do. I need to figure out a way to get yoga back into my life. Rereading my friend Debbie Jensen-Grubb’s article on Yoga & Diabetes [5] should help.

Month 4: Get Motivated
I blow hot and cold with this one. Sometimes I’m supremely motivated to cook and try new recipes. Other times, I just want a bowl of cereal with almond milk or cheese and fruit for dinner. Fortunately, my wonderful husband picks up the slack when I’m in a cooking funk.

Month 5: Get Organized
I’m still working on it. I’d love to say I got myself organized and stayed that way, but it would be, uh, less than truthful. I’m making baby steps. I do like using Remember the Milk [6], but I still seem to end up with multiple to do lists scattered on my desk. The #1 New Year’s resolution for the Grillmaster and myself is to clear out the clutter in our house. Maybe once we do that, I’ll have space for yoga (see Month 3).

Month 6: Spend More Time Outdoors
I did well with this until the weather got really hot in August. Then I fell off the bandwagon and never got back on. It’s time to revisit this one.

Month 7 & 8: Nothing posted
I did really well with these two!

Month 9: Eat More Local Fish
I’m doing well with this one. I’ve cooked grouper, wahoo, dolphin (mahi-mahi) and tuna. Check out my Mahi-Mahi Chowder [7], Tuna Ceviche [8] and Grilled Wahoo with Romesco Sauce [9].

Month 10: Learn About GMOs
I’m working on this one and trying to educate myself about GMOs. I’ve done some reading, but I haven’t yet seen the Genetic Roulette [10] movie (note to self: add to Netflix list).

Month 11: Eat More Vegetarian Meals
I’m doing well with this one and I really don’t miss the meat. I don’t think I’ll ever become a vegetarian, but I definitely don’t eat as much meat as I once did. Instead, I’m eating things like Spicy Chickpea Crepes with Cucumber-Yogurt Sauce [11], Tortilla Soup with Roasted Vegetables [12], Grilled Squash Pizza with Flax Crust [13] and Butternut Squash Ravioli with Sage [14].

I guess I’ll still be working informally to Build a Better Me in 2013. What goals are you setting for yourself in the New Year?


Quick reminder: Those of us involved with Virtual Potluck [1] are working to make ourselves healthier in 2012, but we aren’t focusing exclusively on losing weight. Once a month, we’ll each be posting what we are doing to improve our health and well-being. Thanks again to Foodhunter’s Guide to Cuisine [15] for coordinating this project.


Article printed from Diabetic Foodie: http://www.diabeticfoodie.com

URL to article: http://www.diabeticfoodie.com/2012/12/build-a-better-me-month-12-wrap-up/

URLs in this post:

[1] Virtual Potluck: http://www.diabeticfoodie.com/what-is-virtual-potluck/

[2] Collard Greens with Black-Eyed Peas and Tomatoes: http://www.diabeticfoodie.com/2012/01/build-a-better-me-month-1-eat-more-leafy-greens/

[3] Tossed Greens with Watermelon-Jalapeno Vinaigrette and Feta Cheese: http://www.diabeticfoodie.com/2011/06/tossed-greens-with-watermelon-jalapeno-vinaigrette-and-feta-cheese/

[4] Egg Crepes with Swiss Chard and Feta: http://www.diabeticfoodie.com/2011/03/egg-crepes/

[5] Yoga & Diabetes: http://www.diabeticfoodie.com/2012/03/build-a-better-me-month-3-get-back-into-yoga/

[6] Remember the Milk: http://www.rememberthemilk.com/

[7] Mahi-Mahi Chowder: http://www.diabeticfoodie.com/2012/09/mahi-mahi-chowder-with-anolon/

[8] Tuna Ceviche: http://www.diabeticfoodie.com/2012/10/tuna-ceviche/

[9] Grilled Wahoo with Romesco Sauce: http://www.diabeticfoodie.com/2012/06/grilled-wahoo-with-romesco-sauce/

[10] Genetic Roulette: http://organicconnectmag.com/wp/genetic-roulette-film-exposes-gmo-health-risks/

[11] Spicy Chickpea Crepes with Cucumber-Yogurt Sauce: http://www.diabeticfoodie.com/2012/08/spicy-chickpea-crepes-with-cucumber-yogurt-sauce-for-eggstremecrepe-gluten-free/

[12] Tortilla Soup with Roasted Vegetables: http://www.diabeticfoodie.com/2012/09/tortilla-soup-with-roasted-vegetables-for-sundaysupper/

[13] Grilled Squash Pizza with Flax Crust: http://www.diabeticfoodie.com/2012/06/grilled-squash-pizza-with-flax-crust/

[14] Butternut Squash Ravioli with Sage: http://www.diabeticfoodie.com/2012/12/butternut-squash-ravioli-with-sage/

[15] Foodhunter’s Guide to Cuisine: http://www.foodhuntersguide.com

Copyright © 2011 Diabetic Foodie. All rights reserved.