- Diabetic Foodie - http://www.diabeticfoodie.com -

Thanksgiving by @OXO

Posted By diabeticFoodie On November 9, 2012 @ 7:00 am In Virtual Potluck | 55 Comments

Thanks to OXO [1], it’s going to be a fabulous Thanksgiving. They sent my Virtual Potluck [2] friends and me an amazing set of their GoodGrips® tools, some of which I’ve been eyeing for years. If you’re lucky, you might win a set too. Keep reading for details about how to enter the giveaway. We’ll all be featuring Thanksgiving dishes made using our OXO tools next week. Thanks to Milisa from Miss in the Kitchen [3] for organizing this event.

So far I’ve used the poultry shears, the silicone basting brush and the potato ricer.

Photos courtesy of OXO

The poultry shears made quick work of removing the backbone from a chicken (more on that next week). One thing I really love about them is that the two blades come apart for cleaning. There’s no chance of getting chicken gunk caught in the pivot mechanism.

The basting brush is the most unusual one I’ve ever seen. It has normal bristles on the outside and fat, wide, rubbery bristles with circle cut-outs on the inside. The idea is that the circles cling to liquids better for easier movement between basting liquid and baste-ee. The silicone bristles are heat resistant to 600°F so you can use the brush directly on a smoking hot pan.

But the item I’ve used the most so far is the potato ricer. I know you’re probably wondering why you would want a single-use device to clutter up a kitchen drawer, especially when that single use is mashing potatoes, something diabetics shouldn’t eat too often anyway. Well, this is much more than a one-trick gadget. So far, it has worked beautifully to accomplish the following:

  • squeeze the water out of thawed, frozen spinach for making a quiche
  • cut cold butter into small pieces for Cheddar-Chive Biscuits [4]
  • mash up cooked sweet potatoes for Gingered Sweet Potato Bisque (more on this next week too)


I loved OXO before; I love them even more now. If you’re as enamored with them as I am, you might want to check them out on Facebook [5], Twitter [6] and Pinterest [7].

Giveaway

I’m giving away a set of OXO cooking tools worth approximately $150 which includes:

To enter, leave a comment and tell me which OXO tool you’d be most excited to win and what you’d do with it. The contest will run through Wednesday, November 14, 2012. The winner will be chosen at random on Thursday, November 15, 2012. You must be at least 18 years of age with a U.S. mailing address to win. No purchase is necessary; void where prohibited. The winner will be notified by email and must respond within 24 hours or another winner may be selected. (Please make sure email from info@diabeticfoodie.com doesn’t end up in your spam folder.)

Disclaimer: I received a free set of cooking tools from OXO plus a second set to give away. All opinions are my own.


Article printed from Diabetic Foodie: http://www.diabeticfoodie.com

URL to article: http://www.diabeticfoodie.com/2012/11/thanksgiving-by-oxo/

URLs in this post:

[1] OXO: http://www.oxo.com/default.aspx

[2] Virtual Potluck: http://www.diabeticfoodie.com/what-is-virtual-potluck/

[3] Miss in the Kitchen: http://missinthekitchen.com

[4] Cheddar-Chive Biscuits: http://www.diabeticfoodie.com/2012/10/chicken-pot-pie-for-sundaysupper/

[5] Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/OXO

[6] Twitter: https://twitter.com/oxo

[7] Pinterest: http://pinterest.com/oxo/

[8] Good Grips® Poultry Shears: http://www.oxo.com/p-432-poultry-shears.aspx

[9] Good Grips® 3-in-1 Adjustable Potato Ricer: http://www.oxo.com/p-1164-3-in-1-adjustable-potato-ricer.aspx

[10] Good Grips® Chef’s Digital Leave-In Thermometer: http://www.oxo.com/p-558-chefs-digital-leave-in-thermometer-stainless-steel.aspx

[11] Good Grips® Baster with Cleaning Brush: http://www.oxo.com/p-515-turkey-baster-with-cleaning-brush.aspx

[12] Good Grips® Silicone Basting Brush: http://www.oxo.com/p-373-silicone-basting-brush.aspx

[13] Good Grips® 4 Cup Fat Separator: http://www.oxo.com/p-499-4-cup-fat-separator.aspx

[14] Good Grips® Silicone Pot Holder with Magnet (2): http://www.oxo.com/p-898-silicone-pot-holder-with-magnet.aspx

Copyright © 2011 Diabetic Foodie. All rights reserved.